NOTTINGHAMSHIRE NETBALL ASSOCIATION

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL CLUBS MEETING

THURSDAY 24 NOVEMBER 2022

AT JOHN A STEPHENS

Clubs Present

Bingham Hucknall Town
Boots Nottingham City
Bramcote Nottingham Sirens

Bridgford Players
Cliftonettes Thistle
Gregettes Tornadoes

Committee Members Present

Pam Weatherby Interim – Chair

Anne Henderson Vice Chair / Resolution Lead

Patricia Codner Secretary

Jane MorrellCounty Association TreasurerMerle LaurPress and Publicity SecretaryVicki AshmanSaturday League Secretary

Connie Xavier Coaching TSG Lead
Ruth Swaby Membership Secretary
Angela Walker Safeguarding Officer
Kathryn Gubas Schools TSG Lead

Michelle Turgoose Performance TSG Head Coach

Claire Bowen NDO – Nottinghamshire & Derbyshire

1 WELCOME

Pam Weatherby welcomed all present to the meeting and it was nice to see everyone face to face.

2 APOLOGIES

Pauline Shipman Outgoing Chair Liz Lorrimer Co-Vice Chair

Chloe Matthews Sunday League Secretary

Sue Hunter Regional Chair
Kay McKenzie Two Counties
Ursula Hammond Cliftonettes
Sarah Juric Cliftonettes

3 APPOINTMENT OF TELLERS

Who can vote?

All members of the Notts Committee except the NDO.

2 members from each club who have full paid membership of England Netball and Nottinghamshire. Those members present who are not linked to clubs.

Claire Bowen and Vicki Ashman are the Tellers for this evening votes.

4 AMENDMENTS TO MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING – 25 NOVEMBER 2021

Liz Lorrimer – should be – Co-Vice Chair

Pam Weatherby – should be – Officiating TSG Lead

Anne Henderson – should be – Resolution Lead

Ruth Swaby – should be – Membership Secretary

4 ACCEPTANCE OF MEETING MINUTES – 25 NOVEMBER 2021

Proposed by Connie Xavier and seconded by Dawn Wigley and signed as a true record.

5 MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES – 25 NOVEMBER 2021

None.

6 PRESENTATION AND ACCEPTANCE OF THE 2021/22 ACCOUNTS – JANE MORRELL

Jane Morrell has only just received the accounts back from the Auditors which is why they were not available to members in advance of the meeting. If anyone has any queries, please email Jane or Patricia Codner as Secretary.

The League Fees from clubs were in excess of court costs so all clubs have received a refund.

Acceptance of the accounts was proposed by Sue Eaton and seconded by Vicki Ashman.

7 CONSIDERATION OF PROPOSED RESOLUTIONS

Original Constitution Entry		Proposed Constitution Entry
Ref:	The financial year shall end on 31st March	The financial year shall end on 31st July
10.1		

The above change was proposed by Kathryn Gubas seconded by Michelle Turgoose.

Original Constitution Entry		Proposed Constitution Entry	
Ref: 7.3.2	County Committee members listed in 7.3.1 sub clauses a-j above have voting rights. Voting members must not be a paid employee of England Netball.	County Committee members listed in 7.3.1 sub clauses a-k above have voting rights. Voting members must not be a paid employee of England Netball.	
Original	Constitution Entry	Proposed Constitution Entry	
Ref: 7.3.3	Each member of the County Committee listed in 7.3.1 (a-j)_will have one vote. Any member of the County Committee who is a paid member of staff of England Netball will not be entitled to vote. In the event of a tie in votes cast on any item of business the Chair shall have a further casting vote	Each member of the County Committee listed in 7.3.1 (a-k)_will have one vote. Any member of the County Committee who is a paid member of staff of England Netball will not be entitled to vote. In the event of a tie in votes cast on any item of business the Chair shall have a further casting vote	

The above changes were proposed by Sue Eaton seconded by Cara Brown.

Original Constitution Entry		Proposed Constitution Entry
Ref:		
7.3.1	The composition of the County	
	Committee shall be:	
	a) Chair (elected)	
	b) Vice Chair (elected)	Add after (i)
	c) Treasurer (elected)	
	d) Secretary (elected)	j) Equity, Diversity and
	e) TSG leads	Inclusion Officer
	f) Safeguarding/Covid Officer	
	g) Website and Social Media Secretary	Then re-label items j – n to
	h) Membership Secretary	read k -o
	i) Disciplinary Secretary	
	j) A representative from each EN registered	
	league in the county who is also a member of	
	England Netball and Nottinghamshire Netball.	
	k) Honorary Officers (Presidentand life-long	
	members as appointed by the County Association)	
	I) Up to 3 co-opted members appointed by the	
	County Committee, one of whom must be an	
	England Netball Member at the time of	
	appointment. The other two co-opted members	
	may or may not be in membership of England	
	Netball at the time of appointment	
	m) The County Committee may, from time to	
	time, appoint members with relevant knowledge	
	and experience on a short- term basis to carry out	
	specific and time-bound strategic work and will	
	not have any voting rights	
	n) East Midlands representative (appointed	
	member to attend when appropriate or by	
	invitation).	

The above change was proposed by Chris Prokaza seconded by Katie Cresswell.

8 ELECTION / APPOINTMENT OF NCNA MEMBERS – ANNE HENDERSON

Voting for the following elected posts and personnel:

Anne Henderson – Vice Chair

Liz Lorrimer – Co-Vice Chair

Patricia Codner – Secretary

Jane Morrell - Treasurer

The tellers agreed the votes as:

33 = In favour of re-electing the above mentioned

1 = Did not cast a vote

Vote for the elected post of Chair – Pauline Shipman has stepped down as Chair but remains a member of Notts Netball Committee. All clubs were informed and Notts Netball received an application for the post from Pam Weatherby.

The tellers agreed the votes as:

31 = In favour of appointing Pam Weatherby as Chair

2 = Abstain

1 = Did not cast a vote

Vote for all other Committee Members to be appointed en bloc:

The tellers agreed the votes as:

34 = In favour or re-appointing all other committee personnel

9 RECORD OF THANKS TO OUTGOING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

A huge thank you to Pauline Shipman who has been Chair of the Association for many years and has worked tirelessly on behalf of all its members to ensure delivery of netball for all ages across the county. Thanks also to all Committee Members for their work last season.

10 VOTE OF THANKS

Dawn Wigley expressed thanks from the floor on behalf of all clubs to all Committee members for their on-going work.